Posted in Uncategorized

Growing Faith

I’ve came to the decision that every Sunday I’m going to share a short spiritual message. While I hope this strengthens my own testimony and faith I also hope that I can reach out and help others to strengthen theirs.

I attend church each Sunday with my YSA ward in Rexburg, Idaho. I have a calling of the “FHE mom”. What I do is I have a partner the “FHE dad” and together we plan the FHE activities for our group during the semester.

I first wanted to share how grateful I am for such a simple but rewarding calling. I love to plan things. I love to throw surprise parties, engagement parties, anything you name it. It’s a passion and talent that I love and want to develop and maybe one day make a career out of it.


(From my roommates engagement party that I planned last winter semester)

God knows that this is one of my talents and that’s why I believe that I received this calling. It was to practice developing my talents while serving him and those around me.

This past weekend we’ve had stake conference. A 2 hour meeting Saturday night then another 2 hour meeting the following Sunday. 

The theme of this conference is D&C 87:8. Which reads “Wherefore, stand ye in holy places, and be not moved, until the day of the Lord come; for behold, it cometh quickly, saith the Lord. Amen.”


In both sessions this theme was addressed, along with finding and maintaining our holy places.

Your holy place can be wherever you feel the spirit the strongest. Where you feel love, safe and protected. This can be in your home, outside somewhere, anywhere really! Mine is the temple. I’ve never felt more peace in my life. There I feel of the spirit so strongly and as I read the scriptures I get revelation there. Going definitely makes my week brighter with the love of Christ.


Another that caught my attention was a talk on sharing the gospel through social media and the importance that this is in this day and age.


I am obesssed with social media, probably too much. Lately though I’ve been trying to use it for good, for missionary work. Each day whether it be on twitter, snapchat, Instagram or Facebook I like to share uplifting messages and occasionally share my testimony with that. That’s what I’m hoping to do here and every Sunday here on out.

So I would like to share my testimony that we can all have a holy place. A place where we feel of His spirit, where we feel happy, loved and comforted. Wherever this place may be we need to protect it from the outside world and the evil forces there. Our holy place can and will move or change and that’s alright as long as you are always finding one.


I know that if you reach out to someone and try to share the gospel, doesn’t mater if you’re on a mission or not that God will bless you for your efforts. Even if it’s something as simple as sharing a quote that the church has posted you still have reached out to all of those who “follow” you. 

I’ve had my share of ups and downs in life and on my journey back to my Heavenly Father but I know if we keep trying, keep believing and keep excercising our faith that it will start to get easier as we strengthen our relationship with our Savior.

I know that this gospel and church is the only TRUE church. I know that the scriptures are true and I know that God lives and loves us. He hears our prayers and blesses us each and every day. I know that if we keep the commandments we will be happy and we will be blessed with eternal life. I know that families will be together forever and that the atonement is for EVERYONE. We need to repent of our sins and apply the atonement in our lives because Christ suffered for our sins. He suffered for us to be happy and not feel sorrow and pain. We don’t have to, so don’t. 


Live, love & share the gospel & be happy. 



 

Author:

Hello and welcome to my page. I am a sophomore at BYU-Idaho in Rexburg, Idaho. I am a communications major! And I'm loving it! I was born in Utah and raised in Idaho! I love writing and sharing my opinion, interests, faith and my life so that's what i'm here for!

Leave a Reply

