Posted in Uncategorized

My conversion story

You don’t have to be a convert to the church to have a conversion story.


I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. I’ve been a member since I was baptized into the church at 8 years old but have been taught this gospel as early as I can remember.


The past 6 years or so of my life I have only been going through the motions. Going to church forced by my parents with threats of getting my car or phone taken away so I’d always have to give in. 

I thought starting here at BYUI that everything would just magically happen. I thought that I would automatically love this gospel, have a strong testimony and want to share it with all who would listen but boy was I wrong.

One, almost two semesters at BYUI and nothing had changed. I still had no desire to learn more about the gospel, no desire to go to the temple, no desire to go to church, nothing. 

During the middle of last semester, spring semester, I started attending the temple again. It helped that it was literally right accords the street from my apartment complex. I tried to go once a week, I would go to seek answers and feel the peace, love and comfort that I felt there.


(I lived at Legacy Ridge)

One day I decided to go alone, I’d usually try and go with my friend Kylee but decided not to that day. 

That day I realized that I had never prayed for myself to know if this church or gospel was true. I’d always lean on other peoples knowledge, understanding and testimonies. Which is okay for a while but not too long and that’s what I had been doing all my life, not finding the strength or motivation to create my own testimony.

My testimony needed to start with the basics. I needed to know if this gospel was true.

I went to do baptisms and after I was finished I sat in the waiting room searching the scriptures and praying for myself to know if what I had been learning all my life was true.

I got my answer. It is. The gospel is true. The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints IS TRUE!

Everyone receives revelation different, for me a lot of the time it’s through the scriptures.

Alma 5:10 came to my mind randomly so I decided to give it a shot and look it up (at this point I had never read the Book of Mormon or been good with scriptures so there’s no way I would’ve just thought of this, I had help).


That was my answer, clear as whatever the clearest thing in the world is!

This experience is so sacred to me and that’s why I wanted to share it with others to give them hope, courage to find their own answer, to truly know for themselves like I do now.

I remember I had started to cry, I was never more happy or felt more peace in such a long time than in that moment.

I was so grateful that God gave me that answer, He calmed my fears and doubts and my worries.


That was the beginning of me building my testimony. That day I chose to have faith in this gospel that has brought me so much happiness and many blessings with more to come. I chose to believe, to keep going to keep trying.


From there on I started reading my scriptures everyday the best I could, I started saying my prayers more sincerely and consistently and I’ve seen my life change so much. 

I’ve become a better person because of this. A better daughter of God, sister, friend, roommate, girlfriend and more.


It’s been months since I’ve had that life changing experience in the temple. I have truly converted myself to this gospel. My faith had grown greatly. I am not perfect but I try everyday to be my best and that’s all God can ask for, is for us to be good and to be getting better.


Since then my testimony has slowly but surely started to get stronger. I’ve had to put in so much effort. Don’t think it’ll just happen because it won’t, it’s hard and you need to keep going at it. I prayed for the desire to go to church, to read my scriptures and even the desire to pray sincerely. I have been so blessed as I have improved in these things.

I know that this church is the only true church. I know that God loves me and blesses me in my efforts. I know that if I keep trying I will get better. I know that the Book of Mormon is true and that we have true and living prophets on the earth today teaching us things that come from God himself, how great is that! I know that Jospeh Smith was a true prophet who restored this gospel. I know that this gospel will make anyone and everyone happy who chooses to be converted unto it. I know that missionaries are out there to bring people unto Christ. I know that Jesus Christ lives and died for our sins. I know that the atonement truly is for everyone to repent and be forgiven of their sins. 

I love this gospel.

And I know that this gospel is true.

Author:

Hello and welcome to my page. I am a sophomore at BYU-Idaho in Rexburg, Idaho. I am a communications major! And I'm loving it! I was born in Utah and raised in Idaho! I love writing and sharing my opinion, interests, faith and my life so that's what i'm here for!

Leave a Reply

