Posted in Uncategorized

To the girl in the gym;

I know I don’t look my age.

I’ve been told countless times the past couple years that I look young for my age (especially when I’m not wearing makeup).


I’m in my second year in college. 

The other night I was working out in the campus gym (with headphones in both ears) and I obviously did not want to be disturbed. I went to start working out on a machine and this girl comes up to me, out of her way, to tell me how young I look.

“Are you in high school?”

Ummm nope college.

“Oh well you look super young you don’t look like you should be in college.”

LIKE OKAY COOL??

I just ignored her and walked away after her comment.

So I’d like to ask a favor to everyone please do not:

Go out of your way to annoy someone.

Go out of your way to make a pointless statement that’s not going to get either parties anywhere. 

Just don’t. 

Please mind your own business. 

And please keep your thoughts to YOURSELF especially if they’re pointless.

What if I was self concious about looking how young I look? 

What if it took me months and months of getting to a place where I was happy with myself?

 How are the comments “you look too young for your age” or “there’s no way you’re 19” any different from someone telling you that “you’re too short” or you look too tall” or “you’re way too skinny”  or “you too fat”?

There’s no difference.

 You can’t always help the way you look.

So next time think before you speak. 

Also I think I look just fine for my age! But your rude, pointless comments don’t help anyone. 

So thank you and have a great day.

Author:

Hello and welcome to my page. I am a sophomore at BYU-Idaho in Rexburg, Idaho. I am a communications major! And I'm loving it! I was born in Utah and raised in Idaho! I love writing and sharing my opinion, interests, faith and my life so that's what i'm here for!

Leave a Reply

