Posted in Gospel related, Love

Choose The Right

Yes I chose to serve a mission but that’s not all of it.

What does “serving a mission” really mean?

I’m choosing to serve the Lord. I’m choosing to serve His people. I’m choosing to put my life, schooling and job and other opportunities on hold for the next year and a half of my life. I’m choosing to make sacrifices. I’m choosing to put everyone else before me. I’m choosing to love and to humble myself. I’m choosing to learn, grow and change. I’m choosing to learn to love my God more than anyone else and to always put Him first. I’m choosing to strengthen my testimony.

I’m choosing to do the scariest, most stressful yet wonderful and happy experience of my life.

I’m choosing to serve a mission. 

I didn’t want this, I didn’t choose this path for me God did but it’s my jobs to choose to follow His will and to trust in Him that whatever plans I had in store, that His are way better.

A lot may question why 18/19 year old young men and young women would go to a place that’s foreign to them, learn a language they’ve never heard of and leave behind their family, friends, work, schooling and life for 18-24 months.

There isn’t just one reason but many…

 To share the truth

The gospel is true. The gospel brings hope, light, happiness, peace, comfort and love to all those who are humble enough to accept it.

Selflessness 

I know what families can be together forever, what comfort this sweet sentence gives. How can I go about my life knowing that so many people don’t have this knowledge? So many others in the world believe that after this life is over, we are over. However that is not true, we are much more than that, we are eternal beings. We can be sealed together for time and all eternity. This knowledge can bring so much peace and comfort to everyone who believes in it defeating heart break and sorrow.


To share true and everlasting happiness 

Nothing in my entire 19 years of living has made me happier than the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. Nothing has ever made more sense or comforted me more than this gospel and nothing ever will. 


To teach forgiveness 

We believe that Christ atoned for OUR sins. He suffered, bled and died on the cross for US. Christ lives, He was resurrected and He LIVES today. Through the power of the atonement and repentance we can be forgiven no matter what we have done. We don’t have to carry around that heavy burden because Christ will carry it for us, He died for us so that He would not only know, feel and understand what we are going through but so that He could help us through it because He will never leave us alone.


The church is true. I know it, I live it and I LOVE it.

Visit https://www.mormon.org to learn more.

Stay in tune for my missionary blog posts starting next week. 

Author:

Hello and welcome to my page. I am a sophomore at BYU-Idaho in Rexburg, Idaho. I am a communications major! And I'm loving it! I was born in Utah and raised in Idaho! I love writing and sharing my opinion, interests, faith and my life so that's what i'm here for!

Leave a Reply

