Posted in Uncategorized

Monday July 24 Pioneer Day ๐Ÿ™‚
I love pioneer day, I spent my morning reading about all my ancestors crossing the plains and it really is such a neat thing. We then went to the strip again in down town Pittsburgh where I got tons of presents for my siblings ๐Ÿ™‚ then to a church to watch the elders play basketball once again.
We played this really fun game at dinner at a members house, you get a measuring cup and pack it with flour then put it on a plate so it's like a tower of flour then you put a candy on top. We all then took turns trying to cut a little section off without it falling and when it fell you'd have to grab the candy out of the flour with your mouth and no hands haha! Supposedly this was a game the pioneers played ๐Ÿ™‚

Tuesday July 25th
Found the school where perks of being a wall flower was filmed, can't wait to go there and then to watch the movie when I get home. Everything else today was a blur. I'm getting more comfortable with teaching but still horrified of going up and talking to people but can't find people to teach if I'm not doing that I guess. We got a car wash today that was fun.

Family history is the coolest okay? I love being able to go to Family Tree and see my ancestors and read about all of their lives, it's so encouraging to know that they're on the other side of the veil, not too far encouraging us and cheering us on. Anyone can do family history! It's such a rewarding experience to find one of your ancestors. Just go to:

https://www.lds.org/topics/family-history-alt?lang=eng&_r=1&old=true

Wednesday July 26th
Learned how & then made bread and cinnamon rolls today, boy the best bread and cinnamon rolls I've ever tasted. Hmu after my mission if you want some #wifemeup. We then did service for a ward member who's about to move, tried people then had dinner. Honestly we aren't having any luck and it's really hard but I'm hanging in there.
We need to all stop judging others and that includes ourselves. How do we do that?

https://www.lds.org/general-conference/2012/04/the-merciful-obtain-mercy?lang=eng

Thursday July 27th
Something I've learned is how to "Overcome the World". In a talk given by Elder Neil A Anderson he states "Overcoming the world is not one defining moment in a lifetime, but a lifetime of moments that define an eternity." And how overcoming the world is being less concerned with our online connections and more concerned with our heavenly connection to God.

So I invite you to take a step back and evaluate if your relationship with Heavenly Father is more important than your online one or with anything or anyone else of this world, if not we need to change so we can overcome the world and draw nearer to our Savior by having meaningful conversations with the Lord. Read the full talk here:

https://www.lds.org/general-conference/2017/04/overcoming-the-world?lang=eng#p39

Today we had a member walk into our district meeting and gave us $50 so we could go out to lunch so we got chic fil a which was bomb then an elder went the wrong way on a one way and that was interesting some lady yelled at him too. Also there's bat's everywhere here, have you ever heard them do echo location? It's so weird.

Friday July 28th
I made a bracelet during weekly planning today so hmu if you want a friendship bracelet.
Cool experience! We had a lesson with a less actives family at their son's football practice and their friend sat in with us, she listened to the plan of salvation lesson and accepted a Book of Mormon and we're going back next week to teach another lesson, such a tender mercy!

Saturday July 29th
The weeks are flying by. Today we helped a member move! Then did studies, went out to dinner at the crackle barrel which was Yum. I used to make fun of those people who get salads at dinner but that's me now, it's so hard to eat healthy out here. We then hard sports night woo, my watermelon picking skills are definitely improving, none of this probably makes any sense but I'm fine with it. We got 2 new referrals today, thanks to elders. I hope things pick up soon since summer is coming to and end and hopefully people will be less busy.

Sunday July 30th
This youth started out his talk pretty funny he said "last week I got a text from this unknown number and I thought it was some cutie but it was just the bishopric asking me to speak today" hahaha oh man. We had a less active and a investigator at church today, the hard work might be starting to pay off! And got to meet with a less active family today after months of trying, yes!! I love this church and I know that it's true. I feel the spirit so strongly in my life testifying of it.

I love you all! Happy birthday to my brother Luke he turns 13 on the 4th, whaaaat I can't believe it, sad I'm not there but I'll be celebrating from here. Also to my baby Brigham he's going to be 5! Ahh!! He's getting so big I miss his funny jokes. I love my brother's. And hope of course. Anyways I hope you all have a great week and email me ๐Ÿ™‚

Pictures
«Pittsburgh shopping
»Car wash
»Cinnamon rolls with the Potts family ๐Ÿ™‚
«Dinner with the Campbells
»She was a skater girl she said cya later boy she had to go and preach God's word

Side note: Had the cops threatened to be called on me 3 times this week.

Love,
Sister Higley

Author:

Hello and welcome to my page. I am a sophomore at BYU-Idaho in Rexburg, Idaho. I am a communications major! And I'm loving it! I was born in Utah and raised in Idaho! I love writing and sharing my opinion, interests, faith and my life so that's what i'm here for!

Leave a Reply

